The Cogsmith’s Daughter

I sure think this one is worth sharing. I really like Kate, I follow her blog all the time and It’s never to much to help spread the word for a phenomenal indie author. Enjoy my review of her debut novel.

The Cogsmith's Daughter (Desertera #1)The Cogsmith’s Daughter by Kate M. Colby

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is by far the most solid novel I’ve read from an debuting author.

Where to start? There is so much to talk about but I also don’t want to spoil the book much for you. I really liked the concept of the story being set on a boat, It sure adds tension to this dystopian narrative. I only kept thinking: “What if it boat moves! They are so toast!”

Oh and miss Aya was the best protagonist ever! It’s so refreshing to see a character with so much dept and layers to guide the narratives and I really liked how they where no easy ways or last minute saviors. She did had to get save herself. I did like the ending she got even if I was shipping the couple until the last minute.

As a bonus, all the characters were fenomenal even the despicable King Archon. What else can I say? The plot was great, entertaining and always kept me guessing even if I had a hunch that turned out to be true in the end. I so fangirling at this point I have to shut up, this review is super long already.

Need to be convinced? The Cogsmith Daughter is one of the best dystopian novels I’ve read. The authors writing is phenomenal and poetic. And you have to because it’s awesome! So please check it out.

I’m so pump up that I will have to get the second one! (Please.. Let my OTP happen…)

View all my reviews

If you want, please check her blog at: https://katemcolby.com/blog/ She also wrote a couple of writing prompts that are very helpful. 🙂

May The Almighty GIP be with you, L.T:Htlls

5 thoughts on “The Cogsmith’s Daughter

  1. Books that keep you at the edge of your seat are the most thrilling! So glad you approved of this debut! (Totally agree most debut novels don’t tend to sit well with me.) Thanks for sharing and lovely review!

  2. Yeah, she did a great job.
    Even if I gave it 5 stars I must state that in my taste it was amazing. Hope you enjoy the novel too, if you decide it’s worth checking out.. 😀

Leave a Reply

