International Museum Day

So last Wednesday was the International Museum Day, and to celebrate, all public museums and palaces of Lisbon were free entry, so I took the chance to pay a visit to some of the monuments I hadn’t seen before.

To start the day I came across this lovely balcony with sunflowers:

11haq6f

The first stop was the Convent of Carmo. Unfortunately, I learned it was a private museum, and as such I had to pay, but since I only had my visa card with me and the nearest ATM wasn’t working and as such Fortuna wasn’t on my side that day, I left the visit to that museum for another day.

Leaving that part of the town, I went to the National Pantheon, the monument I wanted to visit the most that I hadn’t had the chance to. Right in front of the entrance was this old magnificient pipe organ.

20160518_122937

The ticket even included the visit to the upper floors of the Pantheon. Here is a full picture of the main hall.

20160518_123710_Pano

After the Pantheon I took a tram heading to Belém, but I stopped in a museum halfway through, the Museum of Orient, or East Museum, full of pieces of eastern countries, such as Japan, China, Thailand or Mongolia. This will stay on my top 5 museums of Lisbon, the pieces there were really really amazing, stunning. For example, here is a costume of a shogun (a shogun!).

20160518_134949

And here is a picture of a painting that I don’t remember which country it is from, but I’m gonna say it’s Vietnamese. The painting just took my attention, I found it slighty mysterious and very pretty.

20160518_135553

After I was done with the museum I was famished, so I caught another tram to Belém and had lunch there. There I visited my favourite monument of Portugal, the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos. I had been there before, but since it was 5 years ago, I needed to get the experience of it again. Here is a picture not taken from me, so you can just see how gorgeous and magnificient it is. http://liveportugal.pt/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Jer%C3%B3nimos-7.jpg

The one I took was on the inside, just, incredible…

20160518_150602

To end the day, I went to the Aquarium of Vasco da Gama, and was also not disappointed, there were lots of fish I had never seen before in other museums, and even phytoplankton and zooplankton, a sea lion who was hiding and a sea turtle that also didn’t want to pose for me. But I managed to frame this fish and by his reaction, he seemed quite surprised…

20160518_161909.jpg

And that was it for the day. I hope you enjoyed the pictures. I’ll probably only go out to visit museums in Lisbon one more time, since my college life is coming to an end.

May The Almighty GIP be with you, Blck Dth Jqs

2 thoughts on “International Museum Day

Leave a Reply

