Today, we go to space, and personal space.

Today I read an article about astronaut Scott Kelly regarding his experience being almost a year in the International Space Station. In the article, he was quoted saying “The more I look at Earth, and certain parts of Earth, the more I feel [like] an environmentalist,”. I like to say that I am a environmentalist. I discovered environmentalism when I read a book some 8 years ago, and since then embraced its preoccupations towards Earth. But in the later months I feel like I forgot why I became an environmentalist, and that quote reminded me of it. Just look at the picture below and you’ll also realize:

19895251763_1e20db1f99_o-31e3ce048b542ce0f7daaac9acccf31e261c238d-s2500-c85

How can you not want to protect the Earth after watching this? You can see the thin atmosphere; you can see tiny Mother Earth dwarfed by the stars behind; you see how gorgeous it is, that it is very fragile and you realize that we only have this place to live.

The image was taken from the article, there are other photos worth seeing. You can see it here: http://www.npr.org/2016/03/01/468239527/scott-kelly-reflects-on-his-year-off-the-planet?utm_content=buffer9591f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

May The Almighty GIP be with you. Blck Dth Jqs

 

One thought on “Today, we go to space, and personal space.

Leave a Reply

